Do You Foresee a New Direction?

If you could add a new Direction to Leadership, Education and Advocacy, what would it be and why? Do you foresee new developments and challenges that need additional focus?  What paths would you recommend to fulfill your new direction?

You are welcome to comment on this post or any of the prior posts. Keep the “cards and letters coming”! The comments are great!

12 Responses to “Do You Foresee a New Direction?”


  1. 1 http://digitalever/ May 2, 2013 at 9:19 am

    This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found
    something that helped me. Thanks!

  2. 2 affordable T1 service April 16, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after going through some of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be
    bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  3. 3 website automation April 16, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    I am not positive the place you’re getting your information, but good topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or figuring out more. Thanks for great info I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

  4. 4 Riverhead eye doctor April 16, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. All the best

  5. 5 Marlys Spreitzer July 29, 2011 at 1:25 am

    Nice site, you most likely get tons of readers. Can you please advise me on my website to get it like yours ; http://removewisdomteeth.net

  6. 6 Netalietqu June 10, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    cute! thank you.

    you can also read it in my car blog

  7. 7 bunfun June 3, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Wow,Execellent tips,it’s so helpful to me,and your blog is very good,I’ve learned a lot from your blog here,Keep on going,my friend,I will keep an eye on it,One more thing,thanks for your post!welcome to Encyclopedia In Action.

  8. 8 red tea April 23, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Red tea china tea sale:da hong pao,oolong tea,jin jun mei,lapsang souchong,red tea,china tea,chinese tea.Wu Yi Shan Tea of High Quality Worldwide Orders are Accepted:red tea

  9. 9 stocktank March 27, 2011 at 10:08 am

    It’s so helpful to me, and this topic is very good. Keep on going, I will keep an eye on it, my friend.

  10. 10 Susan Nevelow Mart October 8, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I’ll take on one prong of this. Regarding education, I believe we may have reached a tipping point: this may be the time when law librarians finally regain some say in the teaching of legal research as a lawyering skill to all law students. I commend AALL for setting up a Joint Committee on the Articulation of Law Student Information Standards. And I am also happy that AALL SISs have contributed valuable input on the reformulation of ABA Standards for law libraries (including, from ALL-SIS, the incorporation of the Boulder Statement). But a challenge was articulated at the 2009 AALL, during Erica Moeser’s presentation on integrating legal research into the bar exam. One impediment to implementing the plan is that Ms. Moeser needs help formulating appropriate sample bar questions for legal research and asked for input from librarians. AALL could and should respond to that specific challenge.

    More generally, AALL should be in the forefront of arranging the meetings of stakeholders involved in discussing these information literacy issues and what they mean for the legal research education goals for every law student. There have been two town hall meetings on the subject at AALL annual meetings Research Skills for Lawyers and Law Students (2007) and Partnerships and Solutions for Preparing Job-Ready Attorneys (2008)). Some general conclusions from these town hall meetings are that no one stakeholder can solve the problem; we all need to work together; and we have to somehow bring deans, hiring partners, AALS, NALP, and law library directors together to discuss the issues and work towards feasible resolutions. And a national or several regional forums that could bring together these stakeholders would, I think, be very useful. (Full disclosure: I participated in the 2008 town hall meeting.)

  11. 11 Valerie Railey October 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    YES, I do see a new direction for leadership within the global community as well as in law libraries. A successful new direction must embrace the blended collaboration of the Knowledge, Skills & Abilities of all vested stakeholders. This applies to organizations or institutions in & as well as outside of the law library environnment.

    One narrow concept of leadership is that the more seasoned stakeholders are positioned to lead which is fine in part. Experience is in deed a great teacher. However fresh ideas from varied spectrums are extremely valued added as well.

    Leadership in my opinion is the process of motivation of the instant or deep rooted talent from the inside out. Web 2.0 technology has leveled the playing field in such a way that cross collaboration is more readily available for the quick exchange of ideas. Which is a great new direction for the information professional. Here’s a short list of leadership tips.

    http://hrdailyadvisor.blr.com/archive/2007/07/27/workplace_leadership_techniques_methods_steps_Vicki_Anderson.aspx?HRDASubOfie=1

    5 Steps to Leadership
    By Vicki Anderson, HR Consultant offers 5 tips for leadership

    When you lead, you create an environment where people decide to follow, to take responsibility, and to be held accountable.

    #1. The first step in leadership is determining where you are going. How can people succeed & lead if they don’t know their purpose?

    #2. The second step is gaining commitment. Clearly communicate job standards, provided training, & a nuturing environment or fertile ground for growth bc if you haven’t you are likely to get mixed results.

    #3. The third step is inviting people to improve the process. Get them watching for ways to continually do things better. Don’t settle for easy goals. On the other hand, don’t sabotage people with impossibly high goals.

    Leading Means Caring
    #4. Fourth step is showing you care. The old saying goes,”They don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.”

    #5. Fifth step is helping people find the right fit. Sometimes a round peg is placed in a square hole. Then one wonders why it doesn’t work well there. It’s really hard to net success if you don’t have the knowledge, skill, or talent to do a job, access to training or a wind beneath your wings to help you soar.

    BTW, I reprinted select text from Vicki Anderson & added my words too.

    Val AKA Lawlibdiva

  12. 12 Brian L Baker September 22, 2009 at 11:31 am

    I would like the professional society for law librarians to have a name that reflected its representation, training, and support of its member librarians, not, their libraries.

    That said, I’d like some sort of additional help/training for librarians laid off because of the downturn in the economy. I know it’s a difficult subject to address, but we need to find a way to help each other in difficult times.

    I am in the middle of this issue now, and I run into more and more folks in a similar situation, the more I interview. While recovery may be right around the corner, as some economists suggest, that turn will be too late for many.

    So, as for a new direction, I’d like to see real benefits come from membership, a la AARP with their discounts on things like travel, life insurance, and health insurance – all the more important for those of us members who are. finally, starting to age. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

